Our School Community - School Advisory Council

The St Mary's School Advisory Council provides the opportunity for members of the school and parish community to support the mission of Catholic education in the school. Working with the Principal and the Parish Priest, the members of the Council and its committees provide guidance and support to the wider school community.

The School Advisory Council has an advisory role; it has no mirror in secular society. The policies of the school are always set within the mission of Catholic education. In areas where it has an advisory role in the development and monitoring of school policy, the Council operates within the policies and procedures determined by the CSO.

The School Advisory Council has responsibility to advise in the following areas.

  • The development of the Catholic identity, ethos and mission of the school.
  • The pastoral care strategies in the school community.
  • Promotion of the school in the local community.
  • Ensuring compliance with the ACNC Regulations by school associations and committees such as the P&F.
  • Development of local strategic plans (finance, buildings, resources) and contributing to diocesan educational strategic planning.
  • Facilitation of school community responses in conjunction with Catholic system leadership by the NCEC, CEC, BCCS and CSO in engaging with governments on school funding and other relevant issues.
  • The preparation and publication to the parish and school community of an Annual School Advisory Council Report.
  • Supporting opportunities for parent engagement in student learning.
  • The provision of opportunities for parents for social, community and parish interaction and for parents to form supportive networks.
  • Other matters as requested by the Principal or Parish Priest.


2024/25 Council Members: 

Chairperson - Amanda Worthington

Secretary - Frances Miller

Parent Member - Joseph Brown

Parent Member - Cairistain Wall

Paremt Member - Natalie Mellowship

Staff Member - Louise Reinke

Ex-Officio Member - Fr Damien Locke

Ex-Officio Member - Belinda Burton